Congratulations to Denmark SHS Year 11 student, Elva Verity for placing 1st in the Upper Secondary Category (school years ten, eleven and twelve) of the Tim Winton Award for Young Writers, what an achievement!

“The City of Subiaco presents the twenty eighth annual Tim Winton Award for Young Writers. This creative writing award is open to Western Australian school students and encourages imagination, innovation and creativity.

Congratulations to all entrants in the 2020 award. We had another huge year with over 1350 entries. Well done to all our winners for 2020. The finalists’ stories will be exhibited at Subiaco Library from 5 October to 1 November.

Winners were celebrated in an awards presentation evening on Monday 12 October, details of the 2020 winners are listed below. Highly Commended entries are also listed below and will receive certificates via mail.

To read a copy of this year’s winning stories download the Tim Winton Award for Young Writers 2020 Anthology below and scroll down to Page 58:

Tim Winton Award finalists:

Upper Secondary category: school years ten, eleven and twelve:

1st place – Elva Verity – Denmark Senior High School – First rain

2nd place – Sarah Benny – Carey Baptist College – Same Old Love

3rd place – Frederick Johnston-Horstman – Como Secondary College – Content, Happy, Productive